Skip to content

Kitchen is almost there!

August 27, 2010

Chers  Amis,

I have been terribly amiss in keeping you up to date on our kitchen/house project this summer.  Mea culpa. I blame the kitchen itself, and  summertime as well. There has just been too much going on for me to find the time to write properly! Pippin and I started back to school two weeks ago so the tidal surge continues.

The kitchen is virtually finished except for a few small changes the electrician needs to take car of in order to meet code and pass final inspection.  The rest that remains undone is all DIY work hs and I haven’t quite gotten to such asinstalling the last bit of new baseboard (it must be cut and coped), installing a new door jamb/frame to the living room, installing trim around the door to the living room and to the basement, and finish-up touch-up painting. Overall, the project is a HUGE success.

Until I take some final pictures I will share the story of our counter tops. We did FINALLY find granite that we both liked. The winner – Yellow River.  Ok, it was my big splurge, but I love the flow of golds, tans, grays and caramel brown. Dh’s big splurge was under cabinet lighting (LOVE IT!) and it didn’t make much sense to light up blah granite. The installer came out to the house once our cabinets were installed and took measurements with a CAD program. This digital template was overlaid with photos of our slab of stone so I could approve where the veining ran, direction, what to avoid etc. on the computer screen before the stone was cut.

It was a very interesting process.  A few words to the wise though.  Take a picture of the slab of stone you have bought. Write down the SKU number and make sure you see the actual slab again before the templating process is started. We ended up with a slightly different slab than the one I hand chose.  It did not make a real difference as they were from the same lot.  I did not bring the photo of the slab with me to the templating and they had already photographed the stone they were using. I was in a rush to leave town for vacation that afternoon and did not do a double-double check.  In the end I don’t know that I could see any difference, but this is not always the case.  The picture above is the actual template CAD design overlaid with the stone they used.  It is SO much prettier in person.  It looks just like a river bottom with flowing gray streaks and large inclusions of mother of pearl.  The under cabinet lights make it glow at night!  Here you can catch a glimpse of the the lovely (dd and stone 🙂 and the laid (trim in dire need of replacing).  Dh borr0wed a miter saw and nail gun from a friend so it SHOULD be finished by lundi.  On verra!


–Marjorie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    August 28, 2010 6:51 am

    Marjorie, this is just beautiful! I’ve been following your updates religiously and getting ideas for when we do ours in a couple of years (screen porch and patio come first). What a transformation of your kitchen! The granite is really stunning. We’ve been considering stained/polished concrete for ours – saw it in a condo in Zihuatanejo last year and fell in love. And I’d love to to a REAL butcher block for the island. We’ll see. But keep the updates coming – and sneak in pics of all the kids. 😉 Isn’t A just lovely.

    Blessings!

  2. Leslie A. permalink
    September 8, 2010 2:11 pm

    Oh thank you for the sneak peek Marjorie… like Kristen I check back often to see your updates. I LOVE the granite and you really opened up your floor plan – just beautiful! I bet you love cooking in your new kitchen now — huh?

Leave a Reply

