Skip to content

See, Mom, floor, but no ceiling!

June 28, 2010

Chers Amis,

Summer is nearly half over and the kitchen is almost half finished  – if you blur  your eyes a little.  Ok, a lot.  Maybe it is closer to 1/3 finished.I don’t even want to THINK about the school year.  I am in total denial.  I am worse than the kids.  I DO NOT WANT TO GO THERE!!!! Ok, back to the house. It is taking a bit longer than I would like, in part because we decided to go ahead and permit everything. Technically, we probably could have done it without permits, but my ‘by the books’ nature doesn’t jibe well with skirting the law for expediency, plus it will guarantee that it is done to code – I wouldn’t recognize the difference if it bit me -and if we ever do have to sell the house there will be no questions as to shoddy workmanship.  But… inspections take time and fixing little oversights take more time.  Add to that the cabin et installer’s vacation after the 4th (when the cabinets are scheduled to arrive) and the kitchen will not be done by my hoped date of July 1.

Why that date?  Because my wonderful, fantastic, superbulosa (made up, I know),  best of the best, maid of honor, friend I haven’t seen in 10 years (blast that stupid Atlantic Ocean!!!) is COMING this Friday. JOY to the 100th power. My usually sedate (if silly) self is elated.  Kitchen-smitchen –   Who CARE???? That said, I am glad we will have a sink and fridge and even our ancient but still functioning stove for most of the time. Ceilings optional.  🙂

Last week the flooring guys ripped out our old dining room carpet and kitchen linoleum and installed new red oak hardwood.  DH decided on 4-inch planks because he likes the wide look.  Any wider would have been way beyond our already busted budget. We also opted for grade 2 wood for a more rustic country feel. Living in the woods with three kids and a dog will be hard enough on the floor, plus the streaking and tiny knots add depth and character.  We still haven’t picked a color for the stain, but that will come after we know what the countertops will look like.   I am in love with my new floor and very anxious to start painting that horrid s almon!

DH and I are going to put up simple wainscoting in the dining room and he really wants to trim out the header above tAna Williamson Architect-Princeton Road traditional kitchenhe new pass way from the kitchen to the dining room with hardwood to look like the exposed beam below.  What do you think?  Our cabinets will be a cream with a light glaze not green 🙂 Lighting, paint, and granite TBD.  Oh, yeah, and hardware.  Eventually.  For now I am SO excited about Friday kitchens seem very insignificant – as long as I can still make lunch.

–Marjorie


traditional kitchen design by awarchitect.com
One Comment leave one →
  1. hélène permalink
    June 28, 2010 12:49 pm

    Je vois, je vois, pas de plafond … mais on peut mettre de l’eau au frais pour se rafraichir un peu, c’est l’essentiel ! Et j’aurai une raison de plus de revenir avant 10 ans pour admirer les placards et la cuisine design !
    Depuis, hier soir, Matthieu est un peu plus anxieux, et moi encore plus excitée !
    à dans QUATRE jours …

Leave a Reply

