Skip to content

Week 3: An Alternate Cabinet Universe

February 26, 2010
tags:


Chers Amis,

This whole DIY home improvement adventure got started last summer when I found an old stained glass window from my great-grandparent’s home tucked away in my basement and I felt compelled decided to pull out the sander and refinish it to hang on my front porch. A few projects later, I declared it the ‘summer of the house’ and started planning to attack my cabinets with fury and a can of paint. But, as dh and I recognized after testing several shades of blue on my already gorgeous wallpaper, there are some things that can not be rescued by paint alone.  This would require serious planning and more moolah.

Our first stop was Lowes Design center.  They did a very nice design, but even after reworking the numbers and taking of their current promotion it is roughly 2-3K higher than what I should be spending according to the Kitchen budget spread sheet I shared with you yesterday.  Now what?  Think outside the big box retailer.  Think local.

Driving up and down I-75 over the years I had seen billboards for two cabinet companies that manufacture custom and semi-custom cabinets locally, Vintage Cabinets and Wood Hollow Cabinets. I love the idea of giving what is a sizable amount of money to a local company versus a big box who is marketing a product made – I don’t know where.

I called Vintage Cabinets and faxed them my rough drawings of the kitchen with measurements and a gentleman called me back later that afternoon with a rough quote – $3,000 dollars less than the reduced price from Lowes!  He also had a wealth of ideas that would help us actually lower the cost and get a better look such as replacing the expensive end panels for the penninsula with beadboard.  How did he know we were planning on using beadboard as wainscotting in the kitchen?  He even offered to sell me full-sized beadboard sheets painted to match the cabinets for a very reasonable price. Hooray!  I plan to meet with their kitchen designer this afternoon and I will let you know how that goes, local ladies. Never forget that there is life outside the mega marketing universe – think local!

–Marjorie

I also set up an appointment with Wood Hollow.  While they are up in Dalton, about a hour north, they will send someone to do all the measurements and do a design FOR FREE.  Not bad!



One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:45 pm

    I can’t wait till it’s time to redo my kitchen! I’ll be coming back to your archives to get ideas, so keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

