Skip to content

Week 3:Cabinets – Plan B

February 25, 2010
tags:


Chers Amis,

Did I scare you with the shot of my kitchen?  It may look a little rough, but I have cooked many a gourmet meal in that space in the last 14 years!  It is funny, when you live in a home, your mind just glosses over all its imperfections and it is only when you see photos that you realize the problems. Ouch! I came across this quote yesterday and I think it should be the official mantra of DIY and remodeling:

“Determine that the thing can and shall be done, and then we shall find a way.” –Abraham Lincoln

Well, I have determined that it is time to remedy the problems in my kitchen and I am on a mission to find a way that does not kill my overall house redo budget from day 1.  So how?

Step #1 – Start by downloading the free excel Budget Estimator from Crystal Kitchen Center. This is such a nifty spread sheet! You just enter the current value of your home and it gives you a breakdown of how much you should budget for cabinets, countertops, appliances/sink/pluming fixtures, wall coverings/extras/decorating, floor coverings and labor based on the percentage of investment of your home’s value.  You can also plug in a budget number that is different to see how it should be broken down. (Note: the numbers in the picture are not mine.) This is a very useful tool!

**  I just got off the phone with the kitchen designer from Lowes and after they took the cabinetry out of our pantry and applied the going discount, the price dropped $6,000! That is more like it and is pretty much where I want it. But that original price put a creative fire under my feet and I found a few alternative sources of excellent cabinets that may be even better.  Check back tomorrow, I also have a GREAT website to share!

–Marjorie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

