Skip to content

Where were we?

August 13, 2009
tags:

Chers Amis,

Where were we? Oh, yes. It was summertime and my hard drive died unexpectedly so I retreated to le moulin to bricoler un peu (fix things up a bit) and enjoy a longish visit with my mother. I must say it looks much better, almost, but not quite decorated in spots. Helas, Ma mere est partie last Saturday, the summer is waning, my computer has returned from the shop (enfin), and school starts for us next Monday. Caddie and Scarlett had new student orientation at their new school this afternoon and my basement floor is strewn with locker supplies, book covers (new to me), graph paper, and binders in jellybean hues.

I am excited and nervous about the coming year. Excited about the girl’s new adventures and my one-on-one time with, Pippin and nervous about starting a very rigorous academic path for the girls with all the social pressures that come with being 11 and 13. But, I am NOT mopey, or melancholy, or deprimee du tout.  I am sure that this is what we are being called to do right now and that they will be at an EXCELLENT school under the watchful eye and tutelage of a beautiful, holy group of Sisters. We haven’t moved to the moon, the girls will be at our own parish school and still on the same Lego Robotics team.

So why the toad with this post? Because Pippin, who has never been my outdoor child, came running into the house this morning shouting, “Get your camera, Mom! I found a teeny-baby toad!” Et, voila, un tout petit crapaud arranged artfully on a dogwood branch waiting for its ‘close up.'(Probably petrified by the height.) Pippin was pleased as could be as he has adopted Caddie’s habit of capturing and naming all wildlife found in the yard. I am warmed to the heart that I will have special time with my baby, who is no longer a baby at 8 and a half, to explore his interests this year, and relieved that the love of nature hasn’t left the house with Caddie and Scarlett. Life would be so boring without toads.

–Marjorie

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 9:29 am

    You’ve said so eloquently how dd and I both feel about the new school year. New and different paths can be very exciting!

Leave a Reply

