Skip to content

Juillet au jardin

July 8, 2009
tags: ,

crystal balljumping spiderChers Amis,

July has arrived sultry and green.  I am so thrilled; I actually have blooms in my front beds! We have such deep shade that flowers are a rarity. Last year I moved a clump of bearded iris out of the bed as they hadn’t performed their spring duties for several years.  This left a big gaping hole begging to be filled.  It is probably the sunniest place in the yard so I decided to try some monara (bee balm) and a scented geranium.  Both are thriving and the bee balm is covered with buds, one spidery red blossom started opening yesterday.  Last week I went down to my favorite local nursery and bought a Becky’s Daisy for the last spot in the bed.  On verra….

Beneath the Japanese maple I saw this white mushroom poking its head timidly through the cedar mulch. As you can see their are tiny toadlets partout, and yes, Caddie and Scarlett are naming each and every one. Mr. Toad

The pink leaves are on the caladium in my two containers that flank the steps to the front porch.  I am always amazed that the simplest creature – a jumping spider – or a raindrop can look so lovely up close.  We are surrounded with beauty outdoors, sometimes we just need to slow down and look.

–Marjorie

PS. I am participating in Outdoor Wednesday.  Pop over to Susan’s at A Southern Daydreamer to take a virtual stroll.Outdoor Wednesday logo


10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 2:08 pm

    Beautiful pictures! I’m always amazed at these macro lens shots, I need to get one!

  2. July 8, 2009 2:48 pm

    Oh, Marjorie..Great shots! Love the raindrop…but that spider!! Yikes! How many sets of eyes does that thing have??? lol Love the little froggie! Thnaks for sharing! I’m glad to see I’m not the only one going crazy with my digital macro!! …Debbie

  3. July 8, 2009 2:54 pm

    Lovely!

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  4. regan permalink
    July 8, 2009 5:16 pm

    what lovely little things.
    the spider and frog are so sweet.
    to look at.
    not to touch.
    🙂

  5. July 8, 2009 6:18 pm

    Gorgeous pictures— I especially like the mushroom; it is so sculptural looking!

    Thanks for sharing them and have a great OW.
    Cass

  6. July 8, 2009 11:07 pm

    Beautiful! Love the jumping spider. What a cutie!

  7. July 9, 2009 10:49 am

    I have to say that I just saw the very top of the spider, it gave me a shiver, so I didn’t stop but past by it with speed. (now just think of it makes me shiver again!) I do love your first photo! It is just beautiful.

  8. July 9, 2009 12:12 pm

    I have to laugh when people aren’t crazy about spiders because I have not always liked insects and the like up close i.e. in the hand, either. OK, I was even a bit neurotic about it; growing up I was ‘famous’ for running into trees trying to get away from flying insects. I was a bookish, indoor girl. Then came motherhood (and God’s sense of humor). My oldest dd has always been fascinated by nature, is afraid of NOTHING, and must get as close as possible, touching is preferable! I am SURE she will be a field biologist or the like as her favorite books are the North American Audubon field guides to everything. She and I have identified hundreds of species together: spiders, insects, birds, plants, fungi, frogs, lizards, and her favorites – snakes. I have pictures of her in her prettiest church clothes AND her ‘snake handling gear’ – snake in hand. Sigh, the things you do for love as a mom! Thanks for stopping by, come back again, and don’t worry, all the wildlife are non-venomous. 🙂

  9. July 9, 2009 3:03 pm

    What stunning images. Thank you for sharing them with us.

  10. July 28, 2009 9:24 am

    Hi, Marjorie, thanks for stopping by & leaving a note. I’m afraid I don’t have any other ideas for you on hanging plates. I’ve always used those metal plate hangers and have never had any fall off the wall. If you use a nail with a large head on it, I don’t see anyway for them to come off the wall after they are secured. There are many nail hanging tools at Home Depot or Lowes that have little hooks on them that would work too, the nail goes in at a slant into a hooked hanger and that def. should work.

Leave a Reply

