Skip to content

Window on my woods – Finis!

June 18, 2009

Chers Amis,

** This is a post from last summer (2009)  This is one of my favorite DIY projects that started with an old decrepit black window from my great grandparent’s house that I had kept in my basement for over 14 years. Last summer I decided to resurrect it for my front porch with a little paint, caulk, and a whole lot of elbow grease.  Since summer 2010 is upon us, I thought  it might inspire someone else to pull that old window out of their basement and create a focal point for their outdoor living space. So I decided to  share this with the CSI  Project’s Paint Challenge. Click over to see  other wonderful transformations!

–Marjorie

****************

Chers Amis,

It took a bit longer than I wanted, but I have finally finished my “Window on the World”. Rescued from my basement storage space between two old mattresses,stained glass window now my great-grandparents’ window hangs sweetly on my front porch. I love how the setting sun shines through the panels casting a plum and orange glow on our little cafe table that I brought up from the shed. I do think that given the view it frames I should rename it the “Window on my Woods.” 🙂 For a few more ideas on using windows in unconventional spaces check out the Inspired Room.

It was really quite an easy summer project.  I sanded and removed all the original black paint, taped the glass on both sides, carefully removed the old caulk, and added new paintable (important) caulk This was the hardest part as I had to chip it away in spots and feared I would ruin the glass with one misplaced scrape.  Finally, I primed, and spray painted both sides. Voila!  If you are going to attempt to do your own version of this project, I would HIGHLY suggest reading this article on how to “Caulk like a Pro” before you start. I didn’t and wished I had. It would have been much easier.

This has inspired me to ‘make hay while the sunshines’ this summer to beautify the house and garden so long neglected by my fixation on school. (What did I do with last summer???)  Scarlett and Caddie have offered to help me revitalize the front porch area entirely.  First, we will remove the blue cushions on the cafe chairs, sand and scrape the frames and table, re prime and paint a glossy white to match the window.  We are also going to repaint the white railing and the soft grey floor.  On either side of the door are two very rusty, formerly brass lamps which will soon be a flat black or black-bronze.   Then we will just need a few visitors.   I’ll put on a pot of tea and make some madeleines, so do drop by! (Helene, je te parle!!!)

–Marjorie

PS – Shh!  I stopped by Sherwin Williams this morning and picked up a test quart of “Hinting Blue” paint for the kitchen. That’s right – the original 1977 country wall paper that Pippin so nicely partially (but not completely) shredded as a toddler is COMING DOWN! If you have been to my house you know this is big news.  Coming soon – a touch of Provence w/clean walls,  a kitchen window valance, a bit of wrought iron, decorative plates, and maybe sanded, painted cabinets with new pulls.  Budget minimal: paint, elbow grease, 2 yds fabric, wallpaper stripper, and found objects from my own small stash – needed: guts!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 7:12 pm

    It’s beautiful!

  2. May 26, 2010 10:35 am

    What a pretty picture, it looks like your up in the treetops! Great idea to use the old window! Love this!

  3. May 27, 2010 8:25 pm

    Beautiful!

  4. May 28, 2010 12:33 am

    What a beautiful vignette. So peaceful looking too!

    Thanks so much for linking up to the CSI Project! We really appreciate it. I hope you will come back next week for our Hardware Store challenge!

    XOXO
    Jen

Leave a Reply

