Skip to content

Tomato trespassing – who dunit?

June 9, 2009
tags:

Chers Amis,

I found these tangerine capsules trespassing on my dh’s tomato plant. Any idea if they are friend or foe? Size – approximately .5 mm in diameter.

–Marjorie

PS – The hatchlings have emerged!

identity unknown

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2009 12:37 pm

    Nice picture! I can’t help you with the id except to say it looks like some kind of hemipteran eggs to me. But I am so totally unfamiliar with eggs that I hesitate to even guess. But here is what I’d do: clip off the stem attached to the leaf and put it into a vase with water. Let the eggs hatch and see what comes out. If they turn out to be beneficials you can return them to your plant. If not, well then you can decide what to do with them.

Leave a Reply

