Skip to content

My Current Project – a window on the world

June 8, 2009

window Chers Amis,

This is one of my many summer projects, a window from my great-grandparents’ home in Wisconson.  The house was torn down 15+ years or so ago, but my mom rescued several of the simple stained glass windows and gave me one for Christmas a few years back.  It has been hibernating in my basement storage area until yesterday when my beloved brought it up into the sunlight. I have a plan to give it a face lift and hang it on my front porch a la Country Living style. I haven’t done anything like this before so on verra si ca marche ou non.

Step one was to sand off several layers of paint.  I wish my dh had taken a picture.  I was so anxious to get started I didn’t put on work clothes, so there I was in a butter yellow summer top, a short jean skirt, earrings, and leather sandals, AND safety glasses, a white face mask and an electric sander.  I was on a mission.scraping paint

Today was all about scraping off the paint that refused to yield to the electric beast the heavy gauge sandpaper. I was relieved to be using the scraper and sanding by hand as I was really worried last night that the vibrating sander would slip from my grasp and crack the glass.  When I turned it off it felt as though all the cells in my hands were shivering in an attempt to get away.  Creepy.   This afternoon after being lulled into submission by the heat and humidity, the remaining paint softened and ceded to the scraper and several passes with fine sand paper. So here it is at the end of day 2.  Tomorrow, primer, caulk removal, and re-caulking?  We shall see…

–Marjorie

PS – Did I mention this is the summer of the house.  What can you do with what is on hand and a lot of elbow grease.  Now I know how to use an electric sander.  My kitchen cabinets are shuddering in fear!IMG_1666

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Priya permalink
    June 8, 2009 9:30 pm

    Oh how beautiful Marjorie. And all the more so because of the piece’s history with your family. Eager to see the finished product. Enjoy the process!

  2. June 18, 2009 3:53 am

    i am a sucker for old windows. i have a pink one with cork board as a backing. it is my “inspiration” board. but i love that this one has family history in it for you marjorie. how lovely!

Leave a Reply

