Skip to content

CHESS in Concert trailer – it’s here!

May 20, 2009
tags:

Chers Amis,

I am SOOOO excited that this will be showing on PBS on June 17! I am setting my DVR to record now. Chess is one of my very favorite musicals of all time and Josh Groban and company do a wonderful job bringing this Cold War classic to life.  Have you ever hear it?  So, so, so good! Hooray!
–Marjorie

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “CHESS in Concert trailer – it’s here!…“, posted with vodpod
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 1:53 am

    Oooh, I’ve never heard of this. I’ll have to tune in.

  2. May 21, 2009 8:57 am

    A friend of mine gave me the cassette tape of the NY version back when I was in college and I played it until it died. Two or three years ago I asked for a CD version for Christmas and my dh bought me the London version – most of the same music, slightly Americanized plot line. There are one or two songs from the American version missing from the London recording and vice versa, but they have been combined in the London concert production that will be playing. You may be surprised at how many pop hits (2 or 3) came from Chess. “One Night in Bangkok” is the best known. If you like musicals you will enjoy it. In addition to Josh Groban, several major Broadway and London stars play roles. I have only seen Youtube videos from the concert but it sounds great!

  3. June 14, 2009 10:48 am

    YAA Adding this to my bookmarks. Thank You

Leave a Reply

