Skip to content

Spiritual Exercises

May 6, 2009

pink-dogwood3

Chers Amis,

Do you ever feel torn in a million pieces all at once like confetti waiting to be thrown high in the air, so many things to say and do but not enough time to do any of them as well as you would like? That is me today.  Tomorrow afternoon I will be getting in my car and driving up to North Georgia for my annual spiritual exercises at the Carmel Retreat Center.  It will be three intense days of prayer and meditation, spiritual direction, adoration, and the sacraments.  It is such a powerful experience I can hardly wait.  I know that in these times we all hold prayers and intentions in our hearts.  I will be praying for all of you and if you have any special intentions please do not hesitate to e-mail me or leave a comment. If you have never gone on spiritual exercises or are curious what they entail, follow this link to a post I wrote after my 2007 retreat which explains what we actually do and what it is like.

I am off to hopefully get organized, begin packing, clean the house, finalize the sitter, make at least two dinners for dh and crew, and enjoy this rainy, quiet day.

–Marjorie

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2009 11:41 pm

    happy retreating. i’ve been needing to go on one myself. you are probably already gone, but if not, be careful and God bless.
    🙂

  2. May 10, 2009 4:00 pm

    Sounds lovely. Hope it was fruitful!

  3. May 11, 2009 5:08 pm

    It was a magnificent weekend and very, very fruitful spiritually. This was my 8th year going on annual spiritual exercises and it never gets old. It gives me the focus and the balance I need to live my vocation. I HIGHLY recommend it to all. I took a few pictures before everyone arrived (I got there really early to beat the traffic) that I will post for local ladies to see as I know some wonder what it is like. Calm, peaceful, green, with a few toddlers and nursing babies cooing for rhythm and variety 🙂

Leave a Reply

