Skip to content

The Perfect Color – a useful CSS site

April 13, 2009

Chers Amis,

No, this is not my Day (what day are we now?) – 13? Yes, 13, submission to April Showers. For that, click over and take a peek at my new blog header! It was one of those shots you take when there is a terrible glare on the LCD screen, you can’t tell what the image will look like, but it turns out beautifully anyways- pure white dogwoods and still ruby and russet, Japanese Maples intermingled against the bright blue sky. I wanted to find a picture I could use for a new spring header so I was very pleased when I downloaded the picture. My new WordPress.com theme, Vigilance, allows you to choose the background, border, text, and link colors to match you header if you’d like. This is a feature I had taken for granted at Typepad and was please to find at WordPress.com. The problem for me with blog theme design has always been finding just the right colors and it required much trial and error, tweaking, and often grumbling. Enter this nifty site I want to share with any of you who blog, CSSdrive.com. Here is a screen shot of the free color palette generator‘s color palette based on my new header. This tool will create a palette drawn from your specified picture. All you need to do is either direct the generator to a URL or upload the picture you are trying to match and it will provide several possible color palettes: light, medium, dark, and complete. Then you can click on the colors that are of interest and it lists the hex codes you will need for your CSS (if you do this custom) or when prompted by your blog provider. Fun and useful. For five more great color palette sites, check out this post at Read Write Web.

–Marjorie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 1:21 pm

    It’s springy and mellow and lovely!

  2. April 13, 2009 2:36 pm

    Thanks, Jennifer. It was such a beautiful day yesterday if I hadn’t had Easter dinner to make I would have spent more time outdoors. The colors were so brilliant!

Leave a Reply

