Skip to content

Toad-in-a-hole, Day 4

April 4, 2009

Chers Amis,

Look who I found lurking in my garden, M. Crapaud – ou Mme. – I couldn’t tell. He or she was quite shy and my camera, quite uncooperative. It did not want to focus on the toad since it was very dark in the hole as compared to the bright sunshine and the toad was invisible to the camera. I had to fiddle with the manual focus and revert to the macro setting. I did not dare tell Caddie who I had found until I got the shot or she would have snatched him up immediately, turned him over and examined his throat for markings. Caddie and Scarlett discovered a few summers ago that each toad has a unique throat marking that can be used for identification. So, the girls have named every toad they have ever encountered on our property during their many ‘toad hunts’: Rusty, Arrowhead, Lark, etc. After just seeing the photo, Caddie is sure it is USA. — Oops, she is now running towards the garden. Sorry, toadie!

–Marjorie

PS – I guess I will continue my ‘brown phase’ for a day or two more J

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 6:13 am

    He’s so chubby and cute!

  2. April 9, 2009 5:25 am

    All that fiddling worked – what a terrific shot!

Leave a Reply

