Skip to content

Small Successes – Vol. 8

March 12, 2009

Chers Amis,

How is your week going? Can you believe it is Thursday already? I am really enjoying Danielle’s idea of celebrating our Small Successes. It helps me to appreciate all the tasks I might otherwise file under mundane and required and to see every little act as meaningful and worthy of my careful and loving attention. My enthusiasm must be contagious because my husband has started making a list at the beginning of the week of all the ‘small successes’ he will strive to complete during the week. So what did I accomplish on the quantum level this week?

  1. Technology – Called AT&T and Direct TV and arranged service technicians to come out and fix problems with our DSL and TV. Now my Internet doesn’t drop me every time the phone rings and I can actually see a clear image. Much better.
  2. Shoes & Slippers – Ordered dh a new pair of shoes from Zappos. Awesome!! I clicked on ‘buy’ Tuesday night after 9:30 PM and they ARRIVED Wednesday. My kind of shopping. Also contacted L.L. Bean about a problem with dh’s slippers. They sent a new pair no questions asked. Customer service kudos.
  3. Charcuterie – For the last 4-5 weeks I have been making our own deli meat rather than buying it at the supermarket. Boar’s Head ham at $9.85/pound is ridiculous (not that I bought that regularly) and dh bought an inexpensive meat slicer at Christmas. Last week I made a ham with a Dijon rosemary glaze and in a few minutes I’ll put a turkey breast with cracked pepper on to roast for next week. This also produces delicious bones for soup and stock. Dinner tonight, split pea and ham soup. Yum!

I hope you have had a wonderful week. Remember anything done with love, for the Lord is a success. Click over to Faith and Family Live and share a glimpse of your week!

–Marjorie

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 8:49 am

    Marjorie, can you give me the info on the meat slicer? Such a great idea. Glad you got your computer fixed too.

Leave a Reply

