Skip to content

What are you reading?

February 27, 2009
tags: ,

Chers Amis,

What are you reading these days? Anything interesting that you would recommend? Are you participating in any of the 4×10 Reading Challenges where readers are striving to read 4 books in 10 different subject areas in 2009? I am, but in an organic, free thinking, rabbit-trial-y way. I haven’t designated a list of books to be tackled or categories as of yet. I am just selecting books that call to me from the library shelves. I have put thumbnails of my current reads in this post and hope to make a Bookshelf Page on the blog shortly to keep track. I do love perusing others’ lists of ideas though, Here are a few topical areas to consider if you are planning your own foray into the written word. Please share your favorites!

–Marjorie

Biography

Children’s fiction
Children’s Historical Fiction
Crafts
Education
Faith

World religions
Fiction

Parenting/Family
Geography and Travel
History
Science and Technology

Nature
Serendipity

World Politics

Adult Fiction (contemporary, science fiction/fantasy, historical fiction, fun)

Poetry

Short stories (anthologies)

Education

Fiction (Classics)

Fiction from Non-English author (in translation)

Personal Improvement

3 Comments leave one →
  1. coildphynx permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:40 am

    I recently read Dogs of Babel and The Lovely Bones…totally out of my normal reading but I was looking for something different and these were good. Both had me shedding a few tears, which is TOTALLY not me, I’m not a crier.

    I also just read Brimstone (can’t remember the author) and it hooked me quick. Finished it in a few days so now I’m looking for something new again. I usually read Stephen King/Koontz/Anne Rice type stuff but I’m trying to sprout new interests (not to mention I’ve already read all of them already).

  2. March 4, 2009 6:14 pm

    I have several book lists posted…mostly children, but also a fairly current one about what I’m reading.

    Marianna

  3. March 4, 2009 6:14 pm

    Forgot to say I also like to see what others are reading!

Leave a Reply

