Skip to content

German PaperClay Ornaments

December 12, 2008

Chers Amis,

The CSI Project is having a Martha Stewart inspired Craft Challenge this week So I decided to share this Christmas craft with you. I have continued to make these paper clay ornaments every year as special Holiday teacher’s gifts and it has become a favorite family tradition. Last year I added a pearlizer to the paint to give them a richer finish and I also gave them a clear coat of poly to protect them and bring out the shine.  Don’t you love a new tradition, especially when it is inspired by Martha herself!  Click over to see CSI to see other wonderful crafts a la Martha!

— Marjorie

****************

Chers Amis,

Only one more week of school before Christmas break. Now is the time for piano recitals, Christmas programs, choir concerts, and teacher presents. Yes, even homeschooler have a host of people to thank for all their hard work and attention. Usually I go with the wonderful group gift card, but this year we decided to be a bit crafty thanks to my mother, an early Christmas present, and Martha Stewart. Inspired by her Teutonic roots and fueled by a bratwurst at the Texas Hill Country Oktoberfest, Mom sent us this beautiful ‘Einsiedeln’ cookie mold from House on the Hill . My grandparents had a small collection of wooden cookie molds that they passed on to my mother. We used them primarily for decoration rather than baking as they were very large and intricate. I was so excited to see this arrive and even more so when Scarlet noticed the cover of the December issue of Martha Stewart’s Living. The magazine highlights the molds from House on the Hill and uses them to make cookies, marzipan, and several types of Christmas tree ornaments using Paperclay.

Here is an example of the ornaments we made by simply dusting the mold with baby powder, pressing the paper clay into the mold, trimming, drying, and painting. For the holder we merely made a loop of gold thread, hot glued it to the back of the ornament, traced and cut green felt backing, and glued the fabric to the ornament. Voila. They are really much prettier than the pictures show. My favorite was the swan. Much fun was had by all. I would highly suggest this as the paperclay is easy to work with and the finished product is much lighter than either clay or Sculpey.

Thanks, Mom!

Marjorie

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2008 12:22 am

    Oh, they turned out lovely. I’ve been itching to mkae some since I saw the issue. I’ve got to get on that!

  2. December 18, 2008 3:45 pm

    Ok, I’m a bit slow in getting around the blogosphere, but these are lovely! When we lived in MO, we attended one of those German festivals out in Hermann and bought some clay ornaments made using cookie molds. Alas, there were no actual molds for sale. My dad’s family is German, but — no molds there either. These ornaments are so gorgeous, though, that I think this post is going into the files for next year…

  3. June 8, 2010 6:35 pm

    I homeschool too. These are fabulous gifts.

  4. June 9, 2010 9:49 pm

    Now these are fabulous~ Well done!

Leave a Reply

