Skip to content

Apple Pie a la mode – Destructurée

November 18, 2008

Chers Amis,

Caddie and Scarlett came home from a friend’s last week with a bag overflowing with russet home-grown apples. Real apples without perfect waxen complexions and bland grainy flesh; little, freckled apples with dimples that filled the room with a rosy perfume; apples that I did not have time to bake into a pie. June Cleaver I am not.

They sat lonely in the fruit bowl for over a week while they guilted me every time I took a breath. This weekend I decided that something had to be done despite my schedule. I was so hungry for apple pie a la mode. It’s fall. It’s time for pie. My solution – a crock pot.
A quick Internet search yielded this recipe for
Crockpot Applesauce
at
A Year of Crockpotting. What a great resource! This brave lady made a New Year’s Resolution to use her crock pot every day of 2008 and to post the recipes and pictures. (Read her New Year’s post for a great laugh!)

Into the pot went those glorious apples. I had to be very careful as NO one in the family other than me likes applesauce, soooooo it was not applesauce, but a delectable apple pie sans the crust. I purposely did not puree the mixture, but left it rustically chunky. But of course, everyone loves a good crust. Where was the crust? Hmm. In a deconstructed dish, as in a Picasso, the pieces do not have to be in their regularly assigned places. Enter, refrigerated pie crust and a series of autumn leave shaped cookie cutters. Cut out a selection of leaves, brush lightly with milk and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar before baking. Scatter the leaves artistically around and atop a bowl of hot apples, add a rich boule of vanilla ice cream et . Voila: tarte aux pomme déstructurée. Delish!

–Marjorie

PS – my apologies for using stock photos, my camera has a ‘sick pixel’ and is in the shop. I so hope it will be back before Christmas!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. juli koroly (mom) permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:37 pm

    I wish I was there to have some of the apple goodie. I love the crock pot lady… I particularly loved the lentil soup. I have been making it regularly in my pressure cooker. I am going to try her reciept. give everyone my love. Mom

  2. November 20, 2008 4:00 pm

    Hi, Marjorie! Your apple-not-a-pie sounds good. (I also have some applesauce nonlovers.) I was wondering how you like it over here on WordPress? I think I’m going to have do a bit economizing myself soon.

Leave a Reply

