Skip to content

A Dramatic Sighting (If you live in Atlanta)

October 2, 2008

Chers Amis,

Just a quick news flash – I actually saw – take a deep breath – a gas station WITH GAS and WITHOUT a long, long line of thirsty, nervous vehicles snaking down the road. If you live in Atlanta you know this is BIG, HUGE news. I didn’t need gas, but I had a strong desire to pull up and kiss the pump or at least pat it lovingly. We have had a terrible gas shortage for the last two weeks. You may have heard passing mention in the news. The national coverage generally pooh-poohed it patronizingly and said it was due to panic and drivers ‘topping off their tanks unnecessarily.” T’wasn’t so, NBC, CBS, ABC. I don’t know anyone who would go out at 3 am to find an open station or wait in a two hour line at HDepot just to ‘top off’. Hip, hip, hooray! I don’t have to agonize about buying gas. Whew! I’m so happy, I just had to share my glee!

–Marjorie

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 8:50 pm

    Glad to hear things are going better and gas isn’t so rare! I was gone most of the time (from Houston) right after Ike, but I saw several hour waits for gas when I returned briefly. It’s pretty scary! Thankfully, I drive a big old SUV and I had plenty of gas to drive away from the area before I had to stop so I never waited in the lines. Anyway, glad to hear things are better in your area!

  2. Kristin permalink
    October 2, 2008 8:54 pm

    We went through that here in TN about a week ahead of you. Finally seeing most gas stations with full pumps and no lines. Big sigh of relief!!

  3. October 5, 2008 11:30 am

    So glad this is over! Makes me appreciate how fragile our lifestyles can be!

    I’m passing on an award to you – see my blog.

Leave a Reply

