Skip to content

Sur la Table – Shrimp a la Grecque aux tomates et les herbes fraiches

August 23, 2008

Chers Amis,

My mom is in town from so a)it is time for a feast and b)I have no time to cook because I am too busy talking. I’m only typing because she went to the guest room to change clothes. So what to make? Shrimp a la Grecque aux tomates et les herbes fraiches – Shrimp Greek-style with tomatoes, feta cheese and herbs. It is a variation of a recipe from Pierre Franey’s 60-Minute Gourmet. This is one of my very favorite cookbooks. I bought it right after I got married because I was working full time, was not used to cooking for two, and needed ideas for menu planning as well as help with technique. I have always loved to cook, but when it was just moi, I was satisfied with cold Ragu from a jar poured oven hot pasta, eaten standing over the sink. Not exactly Donna Reed. Marriage brought an audience and M. Franey became my mentor. It is a nice bridal shower present. I’ve since adapted several of my favorite recipes from the book for a larger family, a need for speed, and reliance on standard pantry items rather than my non-existent sous chef. Here is the recipe for what will be sur la table ce soir, try it sometime you need a feast in a flash.

Ingredients:

Olive oil

1 – 24 oz package of peeled/deveined shrimp – my grocery store regularly runs specials on bags of shrimp. It is a great item to have stocked in your freezer for a quick dinner.
Thaw shrimp and remove last tail segment if serving to little ones. (This saves time at the table, moms.)

1 – 4 oz package of crumbled feta cheese – I like to use Athenos Natural Feta with basil and tomato – a little extra flavor

2 – 14.5 oz (drained) cans of diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings or basil, garlic, and oregano – you
can also use one large can (32 oz)

A sprinkling of hot pepper flakes if you like a touch of spice

¼ cup finely minced herbs, ideally fresh basil, oregano and Italian parsley (if possible) minced fine– add less dry herbs if during the winter.

½ cup white wine – I am out of white so I’m using a table red, don’t tell!

2 clove of garlic minced fine

Pasta of your choice – rigatoni, ziti or linguine all work well

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Bring large pot of salted water to a boil for the pasta – PS – Do not forget this. I did once and all guests had to wait an extra 15 min. for dinner

  • Heat 2 TBS of olive oil in a sauté pan on medium high and cook garlic for 1 min. or until aromatic.
  • Add drained tomatoes and wine, bring to a boil and simmer until flavors are melded and most of the liquid has evaporated – about 5-7 mins.
  • Take off heat and set aside.
  • Add one TBS olive oil to a sauté pan and cook shrimp on medium high until opaque. Remove from heat and place in baking dish.
  • Sprinkle shrimp with crumbled feta cheese and 2/3 of the fresh herbs.
  • Pour tomato mixture over shrimp and cheese.
  • Cook pasta according to directions on the box
  • Put shrimp in oven and heat until bubbling – about 15-20 min.
  • Garnish shrimp with the remaining herbs and serve over pasta

–Marjorie

PS – This goes well with a side of green beans with a vinaigrette and thin red onion slices, crusty bread, and wine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

