Skip to content

One Big Bug!

July 22, 2008

Chers Amis,

My dear husband found this creature clinging to his bathroom slipper Sunday morning when he went out on the back deck to check his tomato plants.  I saw him jumping up and down while calling Caddie. Isn’t it gorgeous!  OK, I was playing with Photo Shop trying to figure out how to extract the image from it’s background.  It is not easy and I am not good at fiddling with images – but it was fun and it looks about life size – @ 2-2.5 inches long. The color is accurate too. Here is a better picture of it on Caddie’s hand for scale. It is a female Eastern Hercules Beetle.  Boy that woke us up!

–Marjorie

PS – I am a terrible blogger and apologize for not writing.  Where does the time go during the day?  I thought this summer would provide me plenty of time to write, but alas I am surrounded with projects, few of which are worthy of digital ink!  Wishing you all well!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

