Skip to content

Newly Hatched – the Flying Wallendas Mantid-style

June 13, 2008

Tiny visitor

Chers Amis,

 Caddie and I were out on the deck making an offering of vegetable peelings to our compost bin when we saw movement around our tiki torch. (Dh has installed 6 cast iron tiki torches around the perimeter of the deck for illumination, mosquito control and to add ambiance to his hot tub 🙂 After close examination, we saw a host of newly hatched praying mantids leaping about. I grabbed my camera and tried to capture their delicate wonder, but their curiosity kept foiling my photos.  In order to use the macro setting, I must get the lens very close to the subject – this inquisitive guy.  He would look straight at the camera and JUMP onto the extended lens.  I would carefully stretch my finger to the casing, he would jump on me and I would place him back on the torch or a nearby plant.   This happened over and over and over again before I could take a decent shot.  Here he/she on my thumbnail.  Caddie and I looked around for the ootheca – or egg case – from which the crew must have recently emerged but could not find it.  We were thrilled just to have found these miniature acrobats!

–Marjorie

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2008 12:52 pm

    It’s so tiny! What an “adventure.” Thanks for sharing it with us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

