Skip to content

To homeschool or not to homeschool? That is the question.

June 9, 2008

Chers Amis,Bee on spiderwort

Every year about this time, when we have finished for the year and my last battery is drained, I wonder.  I wonder if I am doing the right thing for my children by homeschooling or if they wouldn't be better off at ABC Elementary. I wonder if I shouldn't be calling my previous employer and seeing what would be necessary for me to do to earn back that navy suit and pumps so I can afford private school tuition x 3. I wonder about it all. Since I am totally unqualified to answer that question, I put it before God on last  Saturday morning before daily mass.  Here was the first reading from 2 Timothy 4:18 and my answer:

 
 
Beloved:
I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus,
who will judge the living and the dead,
and by his appearing and his kingly power:
proclaim the word;

be persistent whether it is convenient or inconvenient;
convince, reprimand, encourage through all patience and teaching.

For the time will come when people will not tolerate sound doctrine
but, following their own desires and insatiable curiosity,
will accumulate teachers and will stop listening to the truth
and will be diverted to myths.

But you, be self-possessed in all circumstances;
put up with hardship;
perform the work of an evangelist;
fulfill your ministry.

I bought books for next year that very afternoon.  Don't you love it when you get a clear, direct response!  I do!

–Marjorie

One Comment leave one →
  1. Priya permalink
    June 13, 2008 3:20 am

    Ha! Hmm. Moral of the story? Be careful the questions you put before God?!

    But yes, it is nice when it is as obvious as a windmill sail up side the head… which is what it usually takes for me.

    Actually, I have a wretched habit of getting totally excited myself about the new year to come and the books and the possibilities. Luckily my enthusiasm seems to have cascaded over onto Cornflower as well.

    New prayer? God please help us get through the more mundane aspects of our homeschooling adventure as well as enjoying and learning about everything.

    I will have to share the good news of your answer with Cornflower. She will be both relieved and thrilled!

    See you at the books!

Leave a Reply

