Skip to content

Toads I have been? Friday Freewrite

May 16, 2008

Chers Amis,

Today we did a Friday Freewrite prompt from BraverWriter – "What would you do if you found a magic wand?  Scarlett worked on a long piece about Atlantis (no mention yet of a wand) and Pippin narrated this  to me.  I’m not sure how I feel about it – lumpy? Can you tell I took away his computer privileges a few weeks ago?

–Marjorie (Croak!)

PS – I told you it was toad season 🙂
* * * * * * * *
The Magic Wand by Pippin, 5/16/2008Toad2

If I found a magic wand I would turn my mom into a toad. A warty, big toad so I could get on the computer when she was not there. I would save the world from the flooding of the glaciers and stop global warming. My wand is black like a stick, but not a stick  – more like a smooth piece of wood about ten inches long.  I found it down by a log by the creek at night time when I was fishing.  I thought I had caught something, but I had just caught a stick.  I pretended that it was a magic wand, but when I said some words on a tree and it turned alive, I got in a lot of trouble from the tree.  It was a monster tree with a big frowning face and big glowing, bulging eyes and it was hollow inside with sharp branches and twigs. Its hands were just the ends of a branch with little branch pieces coming off. Its mouth had sharp twigs inside as the teeth.  It chased after me and its feet were the big sections that were attached to the ground and they split into parts and the roots were its toes. I stopped running, tapped on the tree with my wand and it turned back into a normal tree. Mom, the toad,  hopped right by my feet.  I turned her back into Mom. She didn’t remember anything about me turning her into a toad.   THE END

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 16, 2008 3:50 pm

    Oh, LOL, that’s too funny. I wonder how often my kids fantasize about turning me into a toad.

    (Btw, I was happy to hear that your dh was starting his new job. What a relief!!!)

Leave a Reply

