Skip to content

Breakfast au moulin

May 9, 2008

Waffle
Chers Amis,

Menu planning is hit and miss chez nous.  It is one of those things I should do more faithfully, like clean the pantry and water the plants along the back paths during the heat of summer.  I am bad at follow through.  My dh is much more organized and diligent.  What do you expect from a guy whose  work title has always included the word "Controller."  When he was home between jobs he even made a breakfast menu for the week and posted it on the fridge.  It was wonderful.  What a great idea!  Novel even.  Eating first thing in the morning has always been optional for me read waste of time and equates with a bowl of cereal (usually granola or Kashi) and coffee for me and frozen waffles (heated of course) with peanut butter and honey or toasted bagels and hot ovaltine  or  jus d’orange pour les enfants.   But dh’s offerings also boasted eggs and bacon/sausage, cheese grits, biscuits (no gravy), and various fruit filled muffins!  "On a WEEK DAY?" I said quizzically, eyes rolling while imagining towering dishes before 8 am.  Mais oui, Marjorie! Who could complain?  He did the cooking. So what a menu we had – until this week.  Sadly, with his return to the joy of the commute, we’ve returned to $1.05/box waffles and cold cereal with the odd banana thrown in for color.  Quel dommage! Luckily tomorrow is Saturday and that means Dad is cooking. Hooray for weekends!

–Marjorie

PS – I have an early morning retreat across town on the virtue of Kindness (boy do I need that!) so it will be cereal or a bagel on the run for me.  I’ll kindly share any wisdom I glean from Father’s talk if I am awake enough at 7 am to write it down 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hélène permalink
    May 10, 2008 4:40 am

    Dis, pourrais tu me prêter ton Dh, juste une semaine … ?

  2. May 10, 2008 8:18 am

    Oh my, a lecture at 7 a.m. is not kind, Marjorie!

Leave a Reply

