Skip to content

Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Libraryday . . .

March 30, 2008

Books
Chers Amis,

So what does one do when one isn’t blogging and one is off-line?  Peruse, scan, page and flip through any and all printed material within arms reach, devouring and savoring each letter and idea. Basically, read constantly. There must be a special of torture for people like me where one is ensconced in a beautiful bibliotheque filled with scrolls, books, magazines, novels and tomes of every kind – without words. Have you seen those commercials by Kia where the customer says they found all the great car buying wisdom in the universe in a special book and when the thumb through the pages the only text is the company’s website addy?  Ack!!!!! Nightmare of nightmares!

My very favorite day of the week is Libraryday and often we have more than one Libraryday a week. I particularly love receiving e-mail missives announcing the arrival of a requested title or even better – titles at the local branch.   You know you’re a book addict if the librarians know you by sight and automatically scan the ‘holds’ shelves when you walk in the door.  (Then again, maybe it is Pippin and those incidents they remember . . .)  On Libraryday nights I curl up on the couch next to my dh with the book basket at my feet and dig in with both fists.  I bet that one thing homeschooling moms have in common is a love of reading.  Octopus?  Squid? Vikings and Aztec warriors?  Inventors, Paul Klee, Salvador Dali, calligraphy, glaciers, the Inuit, totem poles, classifying insects, the life cycle of pill bugs, myriapods, and  Lenard Bernstein?  It’s like potato chips, I can’t get enough!Saving

I do read books for grown ups too.  Lately I’ve been indulging in several books on living healthier and being more productive.   Here are a few that were worth reading:

Waiting for Aphrodite: Journeys into the Time before Bones

Younger Next Year

Eight Weeks to Optimum Health: A Proven Program for Taking Full Advantage of Your Body’s Natural Healing Power

and my new favorite organizing book, Getting Things Done: the Art of Stress-Free Productivity
 

Whew!  That’s the longest I’ve spent writing for weeks. I should do an edit, but it’s time to go upstairs and open a book and eat some dark chocolate with dh.  What are you reading?

–Marjorie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ezmerelda permalink
    March 31, 2008 1:47 pm

    I got “Kristin Lavransdatter” for Christmas and couldn’t put it down. (I don’t know how to underline or italicize – sorry for the misplaced quotation marks.) A fabulous story, well-written, and VERY Catholic. Middle ages in Norway.

    Right now I’m reading The Pillars of the Earth. Also middle ages, but in England. Engaging story, but after reading “Kristin…”‘s elegant but simple prose, I’m not too fond of the more modern style or all the “intrigue”.

  2. April 2, 2008 11:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing your book list. I just finished “The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill.” It’s a wonderful read, althought the author is exploring easter religions and talks about that some. I skipped some of that. But, the tales of the birds and how he lives as a homeless man and then only doing odd jobs is fascinating. I never knew birds had so much individual personality!

Leave a Reply

