Skip to content

Help Wanted: Administrative Assistant

December 1, 2007

Help

  Chers Amis,

Hi, family and visitors 🙂  Just checkin’ in to make sure you don’t think I have fallen off the side of the earth or been abducted by Martians or the like. Life au moulin is in a positive, yet slightly stressful transition phase and I while I have been spending plenty of time on the computer, blogging is in the back seat.  My dh’s company was purchased last spring and the new owner decided to shut down the plant where he has toiled as chief bean counter for oh, so many years.  He was offered an opportunity to relocate, but we love Atlanta – at least our little coin – our woods, our parish, our friends etc. So here we are, in transition as he oversees the final accounting at the now quiet plant.

Since he is still busy in his office for a little while longer, I am learning the ins and outs of the major job search engines and filling his Google Notebook with leads, contacts to call, ads to respond too,and information on local companies.  I actually find it very interesting and rewarding, but I only have so much computer time between the end of school, runs to the grocery store, making dinner and breaking up skirmishes between siblings.  I have so many posts in my head to write  – my date with Pippin at the Japanese restaurant, our Miraculous Medal coloring sheet, A great book on Hokusai, our ‘journey’ through Japan, Weeks 1&2 of the Kingdom Fungi, the benefits of spiritual exercises, December’s Liturgical Club and many more.  I hope that they will dribble out because I so enjoy sharing what we have found and hearing about what you all are doing. I have also written dozens of e-mails in my mind with no way of ‘downloading’ them into Juno webmail. 

Could I ask for your prayers that we will be able to find the right position for my dh – preferably one that will not require an arduous commute through Atlanta’s infamously treacherous traffic.   He has applied with one particular company that would be perfect. Fingers crossed for an interview. Luckily, the job market in Atlanta is vibrant, it just might take several months to find the right position.    Also in the intentions basket, my follow up mammogram this week. The last one in June resulted in a not so enjoyable needle biopsy, which ( blessedly) proved clear of concern. I would prefer not to have to have another pricey, ‘pokey’ stick to be sure nothing has changed. I am going to try to do a little writing tonight since DH is out of
town and I won’t feel like a computer hog.  I am thinking about you
even if you don’t hear from me!!! 

–Marjorie

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2007 5:43 pm

    I’ll definitely keep you all in my prayers, Marjorie. We have been in that situation too many times before, and it is nervewracking.

  2. yls permalink
    December 1, 2007 5:55 pm

    Mom and I are having a girls night out in Austin and thinking of you. Our best to the whole family and we’ll talk to you soon.

    Mom says she will pray for dh too.

    All our love,
    yls

  3. December 2, 2007 9:33 am

    Job changes are so very stressful! You’re in my thoughts at this time…

  4. hélène permalink
    December 2, 2007 1:34 pm

    Je pense souvent à vous tous. Bon courage.
    Je vais t’écrire vite, promis !

  5. December 2, 2007 7:01 pm

    I have been thinking of you so much lately. I will keep your family in my prayers.

  6. December 3, 2007 3:50 pm

    Will be praying Marjorie! Many blessings in this new Advent season! Love,

  7. December 4, 2007 4:37 pm

    It’s good to hear from you. I’ll pray, Marjorie!

  8. December 8, 2007 6:55 pm

    Marjorie, I’m happy to include your intentions in my prayers tonight.

Leave a Reply

