Skip to content

Back in Town

October 4, 2007

Leaf_butterfly
Chers Amis,

There is a crazy rumor going around that we a)left town under cover of darkness, b)dropped of the face of the earth or c)moved and left no forwarding address.  False, false, and oh,so untrue. I am just a bad blogger on the move.  We journeyed north last Thursday to visit dh’s family in Indiana (Hi, Joan!!!) and were off-line and out of state until Tuesday.  Fall had arrived in Indiana and the kids had so much fun playing with their cousins, eating frozen custard and Arnies pizza, sipping lime and vanilla sodas at Mc Cords, and dipping their toes in the Wabash.  I had never been there in the autumn so I enjoyed seeing the smooth white trunks of the sycamores reflect in the water and the rustling rows of corn stalks.  After much celebration, eating and visiting we headed home through Kentucky horse country.  Beautiful! Have you ever noticed that barns In Tennessee are red and barns in Kentucky are black.  Hmm.  Many had German hex signs painted on them as well.  I wanted to turn the car arou100_1757nd and snap a picture of one barn that with a particularly beautiful design over the door and tobacco leaves drying from the rafters.  But on we drove, stopping only for a quick picnic near Norris Dam in Tn. I had to take a shot of this old mill for my collection of moulins.

I am just now getting my ‘land legs.’   It takes me several days to unpack, wash, refold and reorient while schooling.  Life seems to be a blur  of laundry detergent, pencils, paper and plates with minimal contact with a keyboard.   My blogging time is already minuscule.  If I get up early enough (5:30), drink a cup of consciousness (coffee) and say my morning devotions without falling back asleep I may be able to check e-mail and  Google reader  before I rush back upstairs with a hot cup of liquid alarm clock for my dh.  Blogging is frosting on a mini-cupcake and as I have been getting up late (6am) for the last week or so, rare.  I write in my head all day long, but by the time I get kids to bed, I am spent. I am not a night owl – although I so wish I were.  Excuses, excuses, I know.   Ill be better.  I have several posts ready to write, I just need time and I am out of it at the moment.  Talk to you soon!

–Marjorie

PS – The girls spotted this Question Mark butterfly feeding on a rotten apple.  Such are the fruits of fall 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2007 11:59 am

    Welcome home! The question mark butterfly is awesome! I first thought it was simply a leaf but totally saw it when I scrolled back up for a second viewing. Incredible!

  2. October 5, 2007 3:35 pm

    So glad to see you back, Fall getaways are heaven, and how about that butterfly, too cool!! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

