Skip to content

Reflections

September 4, 2007

Chers Amis,Reflections

Right before we left for our week in the mountains, Jennifer afloat at  S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen tagged me for the Blogger Reflection Award.  The description of the award: 
"This award should make you reflect on five bloggers who have been
an encouragement, a source of love, impacted you in some way, or have
been a Godly example to you. Five Bloggers who when you reflect on them
you get a sense of pride and joy… of knowing them and being blessed
by them.
"
This was a beautiful compliment coming from one of the most refreshing bloggers I have encountered. Thank you, Jennifer!

So I spent some time last week on the rocky shore of the Davidson River reflecting on how much the Internet and specifically the on line community,  has enhanced my life and homeschooling.  I remember when I was in college my friend Helene telling me that she could get computer time at her campus and we could talk over the computer.  Huh?  This was before I had ever heard of a fax and my non-techno brain could not understand this concept. Using computers to communicate?  I thought they we just for word processing.  Heck, we were still mimeographing the newsletter I worked on! (Can anyone remember that purple smell?)

That was twenty years ago (eek!) and now I don’t know what I would do without my computer.    One of the joys of the Internet and blogging is being able to learn from, laugh with and get to know others better IRL (in real life), IRL- long distance, and on-line.   So how to pick 5 bloggers?    I’ll start local.

  • I have a certain friend (you know who you are 🙂 who is an endless source of inspiration,  mirth, literature, and learning.  She also introduced me to excellent teas, spoiling me forever. (Chai anyone?)  One of these days when she has time I am sure she will enter the public blogosphere. Thanks for everything!
  • Leslie at Knotty Pines Academy  is a HUGE blessing/inspiration to all Charlotte Mason home schoolers in the North West Georgia area.  Her motto could be, "If you build it/organize it/offer it/imagine it, they will come."  Impossible must not be in her vocabulary.   She is a great motivator, friend and mom.
  • Life with the eight hobbits at A long and twisty passage always makes me think – and laugh! Whether it is brain contorting links to the 10th dimension , similarly fascinating science sites like Stellarium,  insect safari pictures, or little hobbit poetry it reminds me of the Shire southern style.
  • A bit farther afield, Meredith at  Sweetness and Light is just that – illuminating and  douce.  She has been such an inspiration and source of Montessori ideas.I just love her baskets of discovery!
  • Finally, from down under, Anne from Under Her Starry Mantle  shares her family’s rich experiences living the liturgical life and their deep love of Our Lady. 

 

 

— Marjorie

PS – If you haven’t already visited Jennifer and her family on their 35′ boat in the brilliant Florida Keys stop by.  Warning:
after reading for a few days (especially in the winter) you too may
want to sell your house, buy a boat, brave the barracudas, ride a pink cruiser and watch the tangerine sunsets with Jennifer!  Jennifer,  I’ll be arriving in late January 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2007 3:06 pm

    Marjorie,

    Thank you so kindly for your nomination, I am greatly touched!

    God Bless, Anne

  2. September 6, 2007 4:06 pm

    On behalf of the rest of the Hobnottles: “Aw shucks, thanks.”

    I’d tag 5 more blogs, but I really don’t read that many others.

  3. September 14, 2007 11:07 am

    I’ll be looking forward to January, Marjorie!!!

Leave a Reply

