Skip to content

Ring the bell! It’s School time chez nous

August 7, 2007

BellChers Amis,

Ring the  bell and take your seats! Our 2007-2008 school year has officially started yesterday morning with a blaze of khaki and garnet and the scent of freshly sharpened pencils.  I decided to begin a bit early so we could take a week off before Labor Day for a family vacation and still be able to finish in late May.   The day went surprisingly well, although Caddie (predictably) protested the entire time she did her handwriting and copywork.   It is so hot here (heat index of 100+) that even Caddie did not long to be outdoors and the cool basement felt good.  I am taking it easy this week, just trying to introduce the basics and implement a bit firmer morning schedule re start time, break time, and lunchtime.  Last year I found that ‘she who went for a short potty break’ often combined this with a search for a cheese stick and a salamander visit in the middle of math.  I am not opposed to snacks or amphibians, but we will have a set break time this year to cut down on migration.  When I have more time I will share a few resources and plans.  For now I had better go get my dh a cup of joe and  freshen up for the school day!

–Marjorie

PS – picture grace a Wikipedia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 9:27 am

    Copywork is the biggest whine inducer around here too. I love that you wear uniforms. I mentioned that to my husband and he loved the idea too. That’s what I am doing today. Blessings on your first week, Marjorie.

  2. August 7, 2007 10:41 pm

    Handwriting is our biggest “whine inducer” as Jennifer stated. We’re starting school on the 20th, so less than 2 weeks to go!!! I’m so ready… and so “not.” 🙂

  3. August 11, 2007 3:22 pm

    Congrats on a good start to the new year.

Leave a Reply

