Skip to content

A Swirl of Spring Sewing

May 31, 2007

The world’s
favorite season is the spring.
All things seem possible in May.

–   Edwin Way
Teale

Skirt
Chers Amis,

School is out, the air is fresh and all things seem possible – even a bit of sewing for my favorite girls.  I have done a fair bit of sewing over the years, but mostly curtains, quilts, place mats and couches.  I have been watching Jennifer’s creations at As Cozy As Spring all winter long and finally I have enough time to thread the needle and get started!  I love the feel of the slippery onion skin of patterns, the sound of my good ginghers shearing through carefully washed and ironed cloth, and the whirring of the sewing machine.  I picked a very easy McCall’s pattern (M5310)I am always frustrated when I try to find Church clothes for the girls. Everything for size 7 and up is short, short, SHORT.  Doesn’t anyone want appropriate clothing for Mass/Church anymore? Apparently not after age 6 😦  Grr!  Enter the sewin100_1368g machine and a trip to JoAnne’s Fabrics.  I just put the finishing touches on my first skirt for Caddie.  Voila!  Isn’t it cute!  Caddie wants me to make her the matching top so a sewing I will go 🙂  I plan to make Scarlett the same skirt all in pink Twirlwith embroidered rose buds.  I hope it turns out as well as Caddie’s with just the right ‘swirl.’

— Marjorie

PS – Sorry I’ve been so quiet.  We were out of town two weekends in a row and we are just getting back to normal.  We went on an amazing camping trip in North Carolina I just HAVE to tell you about, but it will have to wait for another day.  Right now I have fabric everywhere 🙂

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hélène permalink
    May 31, 2007 4:09 pm

    très joli !

  2. May 31, 2007 4:58 pm

    It’s fabulous! Thanks for listing the pattern number – that’s the perfect summer skirt. And I totally agree on the clothing and SHOES! Ugh.

Leave a Reply

