Skip to content

Why I don’t bake

May 23, 2007

100_1276_2
Chers Amis,

My poor children wonder why Mommy doesn’t bake more.  Here are 5 good reasons why I am baking challenged.  Somehow my set of stainless steel mixing bowls have migrated throughout our property.  Whereas they used to hold sugar cookie dough and brownie mix, now they hold crayfish, fermenting ‘perfume’ concoctions of herbs and flowers or serve as toad and skink traps.  So much for baking!  HT to Angela at Three Plus Two and her lost colander.  Margaret in MN has a hilarious post on other things going missing that is worth finding! What has disappeared from your kitchen?

— Marjorie (who would REALLY like to be a good baker!)

100_1277_2

100_1278
100_1279
100_1281

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2007 7:36 pm

    Ha! I could do up a nice long list for you of the things that have gone missing from my kitchen ALONE, like measuring spoons & sippy cup lids (they’re in the same black hole as all the binkies, I believe) and the little plastic kneading bar from my bread machine, that I found (wedged between the couch cushions???)just days after I ordered a new one! Aaargh. Obviously our kids are MUCH better than our things, and these little people teach us detachment in 100 different ways each day.

  2. June 15, 2007 8:58 am

    This is a great topic that rings true for me. I’m afraid though that I’m responsible for alternative uses for my own cookware.

    Thus my cookie sheets are used for drying plant material, and the collander is used for straining out samples of creek bottom mud and sand. The strainers are used for cleaning seeds from accompanying detritus.

    I will say that I finally liberated a dozen drinking glasses from a duckweed experiment!

Leave a Reply

