Skip to content

Mothers Day dans le Jardin

May 17, 2007

If it’s drama that you sigh for,
plant a garden and you’ll get it   

You will know the thrill of battle
fighting foes that will beset it
If you long for entertainment and
for pageantry most glowing,
Plant a garden and this summer spend
your time with green things growing.

                            –   
Edward A. Guest, Plant a Garden

 

100_1255

Chers Amis,

It is that time of year again, M
ay after a weekend of rain both gentle and fierce, when all is lush and full of hope, the flower beds still full of promise not weeds, and my table covered with glossy titles such as "Making the Most of Shade." It is spring in Atlanta and my garden –Shade and mes projets await.  Here were some of my initial ideas and how we’re doing.

  1. Replant the flower baskets for the front porch (see wheelbarrow) fini!
  2. Hang three fern baskets (at least one will become home to a Carolina Wren) I’m waiting for $ of ferns to come down. Wrens on deck already.
  3. Fill the planter by the front steps with coleus, dragon wing  begonia and sweet potato for colorDH did it 🙂
     
  4. Make a trek to our favorite small nursery for herbs and more shade loving plants.  Every year I long for that English border garden, but I have to remember we have a SHADE garden with no direct Sun. Face it.  Repetez, Marjorie, "Ferns are your friends."
  5. Trim and Replenish my herb container gardens on the deck: basil , dill, chives, thyme, sage, oregano, mint and anything else that looks good – fennel?

100_1256For Mothers Day we worked on numbers 4 and 5. Hooray!  Visiting this small local nursery that specializes in perennials, native plants, specialties, and container gardens is one of my favorite things to do.  There are several good ‘big box’ nurseries in town  but they seem to be full of impatients, marigolds and petunias.  Too industrial for me.  This treasure is tucked away under the trees with no concrete or walls, just large planted beds blooming with ideas and decorated with whimsical ornaments, beautiful plants of all shapes and colors, and a grey garden cat curled behind an azure urn. I adore this
place. I come several times a year with my DH  to browse and dream and walk beneath the can100_1257_2opy while the kids search for the kitty and play. 

This week I filled my little red wagon with two types of variegated thyme, basil, and a yellow and green striped sage for my deck container garden. I still have mint and a vigorous rosemary bush from last year. I always wait to buy my fresh herbs from this nursery because they come from the Monastery of the Holy Spirit in Conyers (Atlanta area).  As I strip the tiny leaves off the thyme or adorn a roasting chicken with the sage I image the Trappist brothers working in their garden 🙂   On the garden side I found some new additions for my shady Mary’s garden and the new niche in my front border:

  • hardy cranesbill geranium (purple)
  • toad lily
  • a red/dark pink? astilbe
  • Lady’s Mantle
  • white bleeding heart

100_1156

I plan to go back after Memorial Day for some edging plants – sweet woodruff or epimediums – and annuals to fill the holes with a splash of color. I found a new place that specializes in ferns and hostas – two plants that love shade – so I am anxious to visit yet another nursery.  My DH and I have been planting each evening  Thi100_1273s week and the beds are slowly taking shape as little woodland gardens.  Here is a before and after shot.  You might notice that the 15 min hail storm we had last week did considerable damage to the hosta, but at least the stone work has held up to small hands – more or less

What a glorious Mothers Day!

— Marjorie

PS – Local ladies,  if you don’t know this nursery and want directions/info, let me know.  It’s not too far and worth the short drive!

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2007 11:30 am

    Please email with the information about this place! I won’t have much time for gardening this year, but hopefully a little bit will go a long way.

  2. May 18, 2007 9:41 am

    Sounds wonderful! Please send me the name and location when you get a chance.

Leave a Reply

