Skip to content

Roses of Joy

April 24, 2007

Azaleas_2

"Not by appointment do we meet delight or joy; they heed not our expectancy; But round some corner of the streets of life they of a sudden greet us with a smile.” Gerald Massy

Chers Amis,

Joy, gaiety, bliss, felicity, delight; all evanescent and fleeting, impossible to harness or command. Joy sneaks up on you like a breeze on a  summer day, filling your sails with grace, sweeping you upward and forward.  Joy can take your breath away with the suddenness of a kiss or glow warmly on your heart’s hearth, a meeting remembered.  Joy can’t be bottled or snared, copied or cloned. It is a moment in time, an intersection with the divine, a rose from heaven to be glimpsed and appreciated.

My spiritual director once suggested that I look for these roses of joy in my life that go unnoticed, the simple wildflowers I hurry by, eyes fixated on my destination. How many they are! The on ‘click’ of the timer on the coffee machine programed by my dh the night before, the wood thrush piping in our front garden, the cardinal fledgling performing precariously on his trapeze, Scarlett’s feverish forehead finding comfort in my hand’s coolness, Caddie beaming with her latest squirming discovery, Pippin crawling into my lap to tell me the wonders of Legos Aqua raiders, the leftover ham in the freezer saving me from the grocery, the spray of a hot shower, the smell of a loaf of homemade bread, and the roar of dh’s truck pulling into the garage.  I think the key to finding joy must lie in training one’s eye to recognize and savor its delights as they come around the corner in  everyday, Ordinary time.  Moi, I’m off to make a bouquet!

— Marjorie

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2007 6:21 pm

    Very beautiful and joyful reflection Marjorie!! I LOVE roses and have just picked up a few to plant! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

