Skip to content

But by the Grace of God . . .

April 10, 2007

Asthydays
Chers Amis,

It seems like forever since I last sat down and wrote a few words.  Where to begin?  I have about 5 different posts spinning around in my feeble grey matter and time for half a decent post. How long does it take you to write a post?  I think I must be a slow thinker, word spinner and typist. Oh, well, half a post it is.  I have some wonderful inspiring things to share, but right now the only thought I can put into words is one from this morning.  It is the kind of thought that you can’t get past until you unfold it and lay it out, hang it up in the sunshine and take a deep breath.  One full of feelings of great relief and gratitude for what didn’t happen this morning, what almost happened, but didn’t – thank you, Lord, thank you.

Every morning Pippin gets up early, snuggles up in our bed while my dear, dear, wonderful husband and I scrub off the cobwebs of sleep and dress for the day between gulps of coffee.  Then I go downstairs a few minutes early and fix DH a breakfast-to-go, pour him a glass of juice and wait for him to bring Pippin downstairs piggy-back.  It is a tradition.  As I was pouring the juice this morning I heard a loud THUMP and my husband calling my name over and over in great pain with Pippin crying in the background.  I ran into the living room to find them both in a heap at the bottom of a flight of stairs barely moving, my DH holding his head still prostrate.

I have never been so scared in all my life.  I picked up Pippin and cradled him on the couch as he held his head and neck sobbing, "My neck, my neck!"  He was moving, breathing and not bleeding so I settled him and went to check my DH who was still in the same place. I dared not move him and just prayed and waited.  Luckily, he was moving his arms and there was no blood, just a crushed coffee cup in the corner against the wall.  The wall –– oh, my — the wall.  My DH had slipped or tripped three or four steps from the landing and fallen head/temple first straight into the wall, hitting about 8 inches from the floor.  Pippin, on his back, hit a few feet higher leaving a palm-sized dent. I am not exaggerating to say it is a miracle my husband did not break his neck.  The impact was so strong he went through the drywall leaving a gaping hole.  If there had a stud there. . . I would not be writing this.   

After a few minutes, the pain subsided and DH could stand, one side of his forehead scraped and oozing a bit.    A badly twisted neck, but no fractures.  No loss of consciousness. DH, being his typical Teutonic self, combed his hair took two aspirin, and went to work promising to fix the wall "later." 

I know a bit about paralysis.  My stepfather became a paraplegic when I was in my late 20’s and I used to volunteer at a spinal cord injury center in Atlanta.  I know what could have been.  I am still shaken, but so, so grateful  for what didn’t happen this morning.  Please take a few extra minutes today to hug your children even more than usual, kiss your husband even more tenderly, and be grateful, so, so grateful for every blessing. 

— Marjorie

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2007 4:26 pm

    So relieved to hear they were both okay. How frightening. I definitely will hug and hold everyone close today – thanks for the reminder of what could be.

  2. April 10, 2007 5:10 pm

    Oooh… that’s scary. I’m so glad that they are both ok. I’ll give my dh and kids lots of extra kisses.

  3. hélène permalink
    April 10, 2007 6:17 pm

    embrasse les pour moi. Cela fait vraiement peur.
    Je pense à vous

  4. April 10, 2007 6:50 pm

    Oh, dear Marjorie! You’d better believe I’ll hold my dear husband & children close!

    But what about my dear friend Marjorie? I’ll be attending a meeting for my home school co-op this evening at my church. I will slip into the Adoration chapel & offer up prayers for you ALL.

    Blessings & love,

    Margaret

  5. Leslie permalink
    April 10, 2007 7:33 pm

    Oh Marjorie,

    Praise God! All I can say their guardian angels were definitely on guard that day!! We will keep you all in our prayers this week.

  6. April 10, 2007 8:15 pm

    I’m so happy everything is OK. Did your husband follow up with his dr? You are in our prayers.

  7. April 10, 2007 11:55 pm

    So glad to hear it was only a close call. I count those as blessings.

  8. April 11, 2007 11:03 am

    How awful! I’m so relieved to hear guardian angels were working overtime. I’d be shaking all day from that experience!

  9. April 11, 2007 3:58 pm

    Oh Marjorie, coming in late here, I do hope he’s allright and your little one too! God is good! Blessings!

  10. April 11, 2007 8:25 pm

    Oh my goodness!! How did I miss this yesterday?? Prayers of thanksgiving to their guardian angels!!

Leave a Reply

