Skip to content

Achoo! Georgia snow

March 31, 2007

Dust_me
Chers Amis,

It is gorgeous in Georgia this afternoon, that is if you can
overlook the thick blanket of yellow pine pollen.  After nearly 14
years I am finally getting used to sweeping up (yes, really, it’s that
thick!) the saffron dust in my kitchen and dusting daily.  This is dh’s bedside table.  I made the mistake of cracking the window to get a little fresh air.  HA! My crazy dh
insists on hosing down his truck and the deck daily.  I personally
think this is a waste of water and good daylight hours, but that’s just
me.  As they say in the south, "Go figure."  He has had to work late for the last few days (since the start of the  powdery Georgia "snow") and all day today, so our deck is covered in yellow. IPollen thought I would try sweeping, but that doesn’t really work. This was from a TINY part of the deck! The pines surrounding our house seem to drop a fresh coat faster than I can move it. I would try blowing it off with the leaf blower but I am afraid it would just resettle. What we need is a good hard rain to wash the skies. According to CBS news:   

"In Atlanta, the pollen count reached 5,937 particles per cubic meter of air on Thursday. Records kept by the Atlanta Allergy and Asthma Clinic show that’s the second-highest level it has recorded. In the Southeast, a pollen count of 120 is considered extremely high.

It is so beautiful outdoors.  The azaleas,dogwood and redbud are all flowering and I would love to work in the garden but first I need a gas mask!  We are supposed to get rain tomorrow.  Oh!I hope it is a heavy shower, we sure are dusty down here. Is spring like this where you are?  Achoo!

–Marjorie


2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2007 9:43 pm

    I heard this on the news! I love your pictures…we’re hoping for some rain, too. Our count is high, but not like yours!

  2. hélène permalink
    April 1, 2007 2:22 pm

    Tous les ans, dans les Landes, c’est comme chez vous (mais on ne compte pas les particules !)

Leave a Reply

