Skip to content

What’s in a Name?

March 29, 2007

Mingus_mill"What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other word would smell as sweet.
"

–From Romeo and Juliet (II, ii, 1-2)

Chers Amis,

What is in a name or a title of a blog?  Jen’s post yesterday on the  coziness of spring made me wonder about all the stories behind the stories and started  this thread  at the 4RealLearning forum. Like the cover or title of a book, I’m intrigued by blog titles, curious in a friendly sort of way. None of us pick a title to be boring, but to express something about us, our lives, our families or our history and to invite people to come and visit. I am interested in people’s stories. Does she really have Rocks in her dryer?  Is Mac and Cheese her favorite food?  Where is the Lapaz Farm?  Did she ever live in Bolivia or Minnesota?  Is the S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen a boat or is someone a chemist in the family, or both? A Lee in the Woudes – is that a landform like a hill or dale?  I could go on and on.  I love titles, they are like little word puzzles.  Check out the thread to learn more about what is in a name.  If you haven’t see this already, here is a repeat from my first posting last July explaining why "Lettres de mon Moulin. "

— Marjorie

PS- This is a photo of Mingus Mill I took on vacation last year. I made my husband stop at all the mills we saw so I could take pictures.

Chers Amis,
Enfin, a quiet moment to sit down and tell you about the
sweet happenings at my moulin – my mill. Why all the talk of mills you
ask? Well, it started with a desire to clean up a cluttered corner and
make room for a new school year’s books. I only meant to pack up all
those dusty tomes that I couldn’t bear to throw away but a few called
to me from the top shelf like friends from the past whose paths no
longer intersect your own. Voices from far away – Verlaine, Baudelaire,
Pagnol. Most lofty and reserved, some angry and cynical. But one clear
voice caught my attention, Alphonse Daudet’s "Lettres de mon Moulin." It
is a collection of stories and anectdotes about the people and places
he encountered while living in the first floor of a old mill in
Provence. So happy, was he in this place, this "Little corner, perfumed
and warm, a thousand miles from newspapers, cabs, smog! . . . And all
the nice things around me." From there he wrote, his door wide open to
the sunlight. I could smell the honeyed hills and smiled, taking the
bouquin down for a long conversation to catch up on all the news. It
reminded me that while my home isn’t really an old mill set up on the
lavender scented hills of Provence with a lovely wood of pines
sparkling in the sun, it is my simple corner of goodness and joy.
Welcome to mon moulin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2007 9:18 pm

    What a perfectly lovely history to your blog name.

  2. March 30, 2007 4:33 pm

    You are very much inspiring me to write up a nice little post–not so much explaining the “what” of my title but rather, the “why” behind it. I like having to think things through, and you’ve encouraged all of us to do that.

    Well, except for Jenn, who pretty much started the whole thing with that beautiful reflection of hers.

    So merci encore, mon amie. On verra.

Leave a Reply

