Skip to content

The Twisted Frenzy or When Sewing becomes Penitential?

March 19, 2007

Chers Amis,

Around_the_twist

Sewing can be a wonderful, creative hobby – or it can be down right maddening.  (This is a known fact and not a complaint 🙂 Inspired by the beautiful sewing at As Cozy as Spring , I decided to  riffle through my chest of fabric to find  the pieces of a quilt-in-progress  called   "Around the Twist’ or "The Twisted Frenzy". I started this under-over lattice work quilt when Scarlett was a toddler and I was pregnant with Pippin, but put it away without finishing. Try as I might, I couldn’t remember any of the details. Did I pack it up in a fit of pique at an error or because Pippin arrived and was of the pin-eating age? ( Note to self: NEVER put a piece of handwork away without making careful notes as to the reason, put the instructions with the project and make it clear what has been done, what hasn’t and what to do next.) Oh, Marjorie, what were you thinking?

A fewAround_the_twist weeks ago I finally located my cryptic handwritten instructions and measurements for the piecework in my ancient sewing folder, but no explanation of the problem – if there was a problem. (Note to self: see previous note!) All I had was that sinking feeling, a Rubbermaid box of pieces, and notes/diagrams worthy of a cold war spy novel. Hmm.  Before I could even start to piece it, I would have to do some detective work.  I studied the templet I had of the finished quilt and tried to lay my freshly-ironed finished blocks en point according to its guide. After 20 minutes of staring and arranging,  I noticed my flaw.  I had pieced all 48 of the ‘twist’ pieces incorrectly. They look perfectly fine until you try to link them together with the ‘snowflake’ sections according to the model.  Deep breath. Twenty more minutes and it looks like it is salvageable. Hooray!

Here is what a small 100_1130section will look like.  It will be quite difficult to piece since all my models are mirror images of the twists, but I think I can do it :-)!  Sewing can be challenging and ultimately rewarding. Wish me luck.

— Marjorie

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2007 1:19 pm

    LOL This post reminds me of all the half-finished cross stitch projects I have hidden away that I only seem to work on when I’m pregnant!

  2. March 20, 2007 4:32 pm

    Oh, that is so pretty! I really want to learn to quilt. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

