Skip to content

Marriage Meme

March 17, 2007

Chers Amis,

Tracy at One More Tracy tagged me for a meme about marriage.  We’ll see how much I remember about my weddding.  It is a glorious blur – not champagne induced. This may sound crazy, but when my dh and I got married  IN FLA  I was living in Northern Virginia and planned it all long distance sight virtually unseen. Adding to the confusion and poor recall, dh and I both moved to Atlanta directly from our honeymoon.  I drove a carload of stuff from NVa to Atlanta, met dh  coming from FL with his own little red car full and flew wedding dress in hand (arm) with a few GREAT friends to FL, got married, flew to honeymoon (see #18) and returned to Atlanta.  Whew!  It was so busy.  New town, new jobs, married – all in one week. 

Here it goes:

1. Where/How did you meet? We met while working  on a financial audit – he as an internal auditor and I as a temp making money to pay for my summer on an archo dig in Italy
2. How long have you known each other? 17 fantastic years
3. How long after you met did you start dating?  6 months
4. How long did you date before you were engaged?  @2 yrs
5. How long was your engagement? 8 months
7. What is your anniversary?  August 93
8. How many people came to your wedding reception?  150?
9. What kind of cake did you serve?  Almond with raspberry filling?  Blur #1- cake
10. Where was your wedding? St. Ignatius Loyola Cathedral in Palm Beach Gardens   
11. What did you serve for your meal? Blur #2 – a choice or chicken or steak. Ever the carnivore I went with the beef
12. How many people were in your wedding party?9 — 1 maid of honor, 3 bridesmaids,1 best man, 3 groomsmen,  &1 flower girl
13. Are you still friends with them all? I have lost touch with just one bridesmaid,  but the other 2 were sisters :-)Hi!) and my maid of honor – c’etait toi, Helene 🙂 
14. Did your spouse cry during the ceremony?  no
15. Most special moment of your wedding day? Hearing "I do" and knowing we never had to be apart again. This is a big deal after a long distance relationship!  We had never lived in the same city and then were separated by 1500 miles (FL-DC) for 2 years
16. Any funny moments? My mother in law gave me a very funny photo of dh from his younger, wilder days at the rehersal dinner.  They took a picture of my face when I saw it.  Hilarious.
17. Any big disasters? Nope, but I was not at all worried about form.  It could have rained, my dress could have been ruined, I wouldn’t have cared a whit.
18. Where did you go on your honeymoon? Vancouver and Victoria British Colombia (w/a side trip up Vancouver island to the beach – note to self – write travel post about B.C.)
19. How long were you gone? 10 days
20. If you were to do your wedding over, what would you change? Spend more on a really good photographer and pay for an album. 
21. What side of the bed do you sleep on?Left seen from the foot
22. What size is your bed? Full
23. Greatest strength as a couple? We think SO much alike and agree on 99% of issues.  The other 1% doesn’t matter.
24. Greatest challenge as a couple? Finding time to be a  couple, not Mom and Dad, teacher, maid, accountant, handyman, referree – just a couple i.e. dates
25. Who literally pays the bills? Moi

26. What is your song? don’t have one
27. What did you dance your first dance to?  Blur #3 – the DJ didn’t have our song ( I have forgotten what it was at the time)
28. Describe your wedding dress: It was very simple white silken damask with short sleeves (we were in FLA) and an open back. Lace around the pointed bodice and along the neckline.  I had it handmade which was very romantic – it fit perfectly (and it was less expensive for a nicer dress!)
29. What kind of flowers did you have at your wedding? Blur #4
30. Are your wedding bands engraved? No
31 How old were you when you got married?  26 and 38 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

