Skip to content

Wanderlust and the Traveling Bug

March 12, 2007

Pikespeak
We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfillment.

Hilaire Belloc


How now, wit! Whither wander you?
William Shakespeare 

Chers Amis,

My husband has the fever. Spring fever. The we-need-to-leave-le-moulin-and-see-the-world-and-have-an-adventure fever.  He’s got it bad and it is contagious.  I haven’t caught it yet.  I am still enjoying the first bright-eyed violets that will become our woodland carpet, the chartreuse sprays of forsythia that presage the palms of Easter, and faint hints of fuchsia on our aging redbud.   Like Bilbo, I would rather like to sit in the glorious sun outside my own doorway and leave the packing and dragon slaying to the dwarves, dh and small children.  But, I seem to remember Bilbo being hornswoggled into a rather "Tookish" adventure and enjoying it all the same.  I can see it coming here too.  It is inevitable. It is spring. 

Are you all planning to get away?  Have you decided where to go?  Will you stay close to home or venture further afield. I think I will write a couple posts in the coming days about spots we have enjoyed in case anyone is looking for an idea.  I would love to see your ideas too! Until then, here are a few thoughts to ponder (or post on):

  • What makes for a great vacation for you?
  • What do you look for in a get away?
    • Fascinating sites, museums, architecture, history?
    • Bright lights, nightlife, music, theater, entertainment, amusement parks?
    • Ocean breezes, hiking trails, biking, mountain climbing, nature walks or promenades?
    • Rustic or luxury, scheduled or laid back, pool or no pool, beach?
  • What have been your favorite destination and why?  (This sounds like its becoming a meme doesn’t it 🙂
  • Have you ever taken a vacation without your children since becoming a parent?
  • How often do you get away? How much time do you take?  One, two-weeks, a long weekend?
  • What is the most exotic or interesting vacation you have taken? (Aloha, M. 🙂

— Marjorie

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2007 8:42 pm

    We just planned a beach trip in May. I think my ideal vaction is a relaxation type atmosphere. Does travel always have to be a vacation though? I loved going to China and I owuld love to go back one day when we can have some more time to explore. I am not sure if I consider that kind of travel a vaction though…more like exploring or adventuring! I am looking forward to hearing where your next trip will be.

    ps. I think I am very ‘Tookish’ hee hee

  2. March 13, 2007 9:24 pm

    I have the bug too. We usually go camping in New Mexico, but I wanna go to the beach – now! I’m scanning the paper for good deals to Mexico lately.

Leave a Reply

