Skip to content

Simple Pleasures and Memories

January 30, 2007

"Life brings simple pleasures to us every day. It is up to us to make them wonderful memories.” Cathy Allen

Chers Amis,

100_1015

What is the difference between a simple pleasure and a memory made?  What alchemy changes the every day experience to a lasting warmth of soul? Time? Conscious effort? These are some of the questions my foggy brain has been meditating on of late. As I have mentioned before, I think 2007 is the Year of Atmosphere for me – enjoying, creating, appreciating,  and fostering beauty and goodness in all its forms – especially the most simple. Sometimes the simple pleasures in life are the sweetest and most easily missed in the craziness of everyday life. Overlooked or postponed, rushed or forgotten on the treadmill of routine. What can I do to make life au moulin a pleasure for others?  A joy? A happy memory?

This year I am trying to be more spontaneous and more attuned to living in the moment and enjoying its particular gift.  This is not always easy for me, but luckily,  I have a wonderful partner and mentor in my husband. He naturally makes life beautiful and fun. He has very often dragged me kicking and screaming – or at least pouting and grumbling- into joy. He balances out my practicality and pragmatism with spritely and infectious happiness. A friend suggested that I need to be his deacon.  What?  His deacon.  Have you ever watched the deacon during mass?  Really paid attention to what he is doing?  He carefully lays out everything Father needs for the consecration with great attention and quiet grace and then steps back.   I could learn from this example and make sure that the ingredients for a more enjoyable life are at hand.

Take something as basic as a mid winter fire, one of the simple pleasures of winter. Snow or no snow, with a little forethought it can become something greater that a back-up heater. A few quiet steps like making sure we have graham crackers, chocolate and marshmallows for s’mores, a full basket of "magic" colored pine cones to throw on the flames, and a bottle of Tuaca The Art of Drink for a special cordial  can make the difference. A little planning lets the spontaneity of a moment ignite into the extra spark that makes a simple pleasure a wonderful memory. I might be on to something. Only time will tell.

— Marjorie

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2007 9:30 am

    I love this idea. You blog already has a lovely atmosphere.

  2. January 31, 2007 9:46 pm

    The simple pleasures have been on my mind as well today. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I would like to hear how your painting came out!

Leave a Reply

