Skip to content

A new sighting!

January 15, 2007

Coe_cedwax_thnChers Amis,

Caddie just rushed in to tell me that she sighted a Cedar Waxwing perched in our holly tree having a winter snack.  This is the first time in our almost eleven years a notre moulin that we have seen a waxwing so this was exciting.  We will have to read up on waxwings to see what we can do to attract them.  Don’t you love their black and white masks.  They look like female cardinals in disguise on their way to a masquerade ball.

— Marjorie

P.S.  Illustration by James Coe Cornell Lab of Ornithology All About Birds site.  It is a wonderful resource, check it out!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 11:27 pm

    If you find out what attracts them, let me know. I am dying to spot one on our feeder. Connor spotted one last year, but it flew away before I got to the window. I am glad you spotted one today.

  2. January 16, 2007 11:32 am

    We are getting better at identifying birds around here. I will keep a lookout for these pretties!

  3. January 17, 2007 11:33 pm

    This is so funny! I just wrote a long post on the first cedar waxwing I saw in our yard today as well! They cleaned our hollies off completely. I also linked to the Cornell site. I have to go back and edit my post now to mention this funny coincidence.

  4. January 18, 2007 6:00 am

    Oh, Marjorie, how exciting! I have never seen a cedar waxwing, but would love to! We’re going to plant more berry bushes this spring in hopes of attracting them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

