Skip to content

Do you Google Notebook?

January 9, 2007

Google
Chers Amis,

Last January we finally got DSL access au moulin. (Pipe in the Alleluia chorus from Handel’s Messiah)  What a difference some real speed makes!  Try going back to dial-up for a few weeks when, say, lightning hits your modem,  and you will truly appreciate the speed. Once it didn’t take 5 min to load a page, I started using the Internet constantly, especially to research ideas for school.  My best tools to manage my gleanings:  book-marking favorites, a Word document, and the save/print method. No more!  Recently I discovered Google Notebook.  My apologies to the 95% of you who already know about this function, but I LOVE it and there has to be someone out there who hasn’t discovered it yet – and should!

Google Notebook is a add-on from Google that allows you to save links, photos, text, etc. to custom notebooks while surfing with an easy right-click from your mouse.  You can also add notes or commentary, bold, use color to mark important sections, and make separate notebook dividers. A small icon of a notebook and the words "open notebook" are always at the bottom of  your window waiting to be used and always on your right-click.  You don’t have to stop, open the program from your Start button.   

Here are some of the notebooks I have:

  Adventures in Science contains a selection of links to sites with experiments, info on Archimedes, photos of simple machines, lists of suggested materials to have on hand for experiments, lists of suggested resources.  Now I can go back and divide the NB by simple machines i.e. levers, wheel/axle, screws if useful or maybe by books, experiments, links.  I can make notes about my selections, comment on them and even make a notebook "public" so others can see it.  This will be great with Adventures in Science as my co-conspirator co-teacher, Dr. P, can read through the resources and add to it as well.

I also have one for Book Club – divided by titles of our upcoming books, holding links to suggested activities, sites, vocabulary lists etc.  I can also write my own ideas there or share it with my book club.

Homeschooling in general by course, Books of interest – I can clip reviews or suggestions from forums etc. DH – hot tub, Marjorie -hobbies.  I will be adding one for liturgical year ideas/faith

This is a fantastic tool for lesson planning, gathering information and ideas for unit studies, managing data on any topic you can find on the web.  Check out the site as I am sure there are many more features I haven’t discovered yet.   Happy Clipping and Clicking!

— Marjorie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. courtney permalink
    January 9, 2007 3:08 pm

    Never heard of it before! Thanks for sharing this great resource! I’ll soon be trying it!

  2. January 9, 2007 6:09 pm

    I have not heard of it either. That sounds wonderful. So much of what we do comes from links. Thank you!! And I’m so with you on DSL connection.

Leave a Reply

